[MS4W-Users] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations

Jeff McKenna jmckenna at gatewaygeomatics.com
Tue Jul 6 12:50:27 EST 2010

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open nominations for
the 2010 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software (GFOSS)
will be given to individuals who have demonstrated leadership in the
GFOSS community. Recipients of the award will have contributed
significantly through their activities to advance open source ideals in
the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large body of
work in the form of applications, format specifications, and utilities
while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This early GFOSS archive
provided both source code and applications freely available to the
community. Sol was also a frequent contributor to many geospatial list
servers, providing much guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's Lymphoma, but
his legacy lives on in the open source world. Those interested in making
a donation to the American Cancer Society, as per Sol's family's
request, can do so at

Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for this
nomination. Nominations will be accepted until 23:59 UTC on August 20th

A recipient will be decided from the nomination list by an OSGeo
designated selection committee.

The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software will be announced on September 9th at the FOSS4G 2010
conference (http://2010.foss4g.org/) closing plenary in Barcelona,
Spain. The hope is that the award will both acknowledge the work of
community members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to

It should be noted that past awardees and selection committee members
are not eligible.

Past Awardees:

  2009: Daniel Morissette
  2008: Paul Ramsey
  2007: Steve Lime
  2006: Markus Neteler
  2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee:

  Jeff McKenna (chair)
  Daniel Morissette
  Frank Warmerdam
  Markus Neteler
  Steve Lime
  Paul Ramsey
  Sophia Parafina

More information about the MS4W-Users mailing list