[MS4W-Users] Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source Software - Call for Nominations

Jeff McKenna jmckenna at gatewaygeomatics.com
Mon Sep 17 08:28:52 EST 2012

The Open Source Geospatial Foundation would like to open
nominations for the 2012 Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free
and Open Source Software.

The Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open Source
Software (GFOSS) will be given to individuals who have
demonstrated leadership in the GFOSS community. Recipients
of the award will have contributed significantly through their
activities to advance open source ideals in the geospatial realm.

Sol Katz was an early pioneer of GFOSS and left behind a large
body of work in the form of applications, format specifications,
and utilities while at the U.S. Bureau of Land Management. This
early GFOSS archive provided both source code and applications
freely available to the community. Sol was also a frequent
contributor to many geospatial list servers, providing much
guidance to the geospatial community at large.

Sol unfortunately passed away in 1999 from Non-Hodgkin's
Lymphoma, but his legacy lives on in the open source world.
Those interested in making a donation to the American Cancer
Society, as per Sol's family's request, can do so at:


Nominations for the Sol Katz Award should be sent to
SolKatzAward at osgeo.org with a description of the reasons for
this nomination. Nominations will be accepted until 23:59 UTC
on September 28th.  A recipient will be decided from the
nomination list by an OSGeo designated selection committee.
The winner of the Sol Katz Award for Geospatial Free and Open
Source Software will be announced in early October. The hope is
that the award will both acknowledge the work of community
members, and pay tribute to one of its founders, for years to
come.  It should be noted that past awardees and selection
committee members are not eligible.

Past Awardees:
 2011: Martin Davis
 2010: Helena Mitasova
 2009: Daniel Morissette
 2008: Paul Ramsey
 2007: Steve Lime
 2006: Markus Neteler
 2005: Frank Warmerdam

Selection Committee:
 Jeff McKenna (chair)
 Daniel Morissette
 Frank Warmerdam
 Markus Neteler
 Steve Lime
 Paul Ramsey
 Sophia Parafina
 Helena Mitasova
 Martin Davis

More information about the MS4W-Users mailing list